Sierra Leone, Liberia and Guinea designated Temporary Protected Status


Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Jeh Johnson has designated Sierra Leone, Liberia and Guinea for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for a period of 18 months.

The Secretary has determined that due to the outbreak of the Ebola virus in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea, these countries are experiencing extraordinary and temporary conditions that prevent their nationals from returning in safety and that permitting such aliens to temporarily remain in the United States is not contrary to U.S. national interests. The 18 month TPS designation for these three countries is effective beginning November 21, 2014 through May 20, 2016.

Nationals of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone who meet the eligibility requirements for TPS may submit TPS applications to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services during the registration period between November 21, 2014 and May 20, 2015.

Individuals who register during the designated registration period and receive TPS will not be removed from the United States and are authorized to obtain an Employment Authorization Document during this time.

Nationals of these three countries must satisfy all of the TPS eligibility criteria including demonstrating that they have been continuously residing in the United States since November 20, 2014 and continuously present in the United States since November 21, 2014.

For more information on TPS and the TPS designation for Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone, please contact our office at (303) 974-7758 (Eric Johnson, Esq.) or (303) 462-6701 (Kristin Knudson, Esq.) to set up a consultation with one of our licensed attorneys so that we can review your case with you and discuss eligibility for the new program